News Archive

Jayant Kaykini honoured with MRPL Karnataka Rajyostava award

14th December 2010

At a colorful valedictory function marking the close of a month-long Karnataka Rajyotsava Celebrations, Shri Jayanth Kaykini, the well-known Kannada writer and poet, was honored with the MRPL Karnataka Rajyostava award by Shri U K Basu, Managing Director of Mangalore Refinery & Petrochemical Ltd (MRPL). The award carries with it a cash award, a trophy and a citation.

The month-long activities and competitions tailored to promote Kannada reached a crescendo last Saturday with a 2 km long procession in which over 600 people participated alongwith "DOLLU KUNITHA", "HULIVESHA" "KALLADKA BOMBE", Mother Bhuvaneswari and over 25 children dressed as eminent Kannada personalities. DPS - MRPL School Band added attraction to the procession.
In his acceptance speech Shri Jayanth Kaykini complimented MRPL on its commitment to promote the significance of Kannada, and urged all parents to identify and nurture the hidden talent and creativity of their children rather than impose their needs on them.

Shri K Lakshminarayana, GGM HR, MRPL stressed the importance of the mother tongue in individual’s life and the need to preserve its richness. Shri U K Basu, MD, MRPL reiterated MRPL's commitment to preserve and promote the rich cultural heritage and literature of DK and Karnataka.
Shri B Sudharshan, GM Projects, MRPL and President of Rajyostava Committee set the mood for the evening when he traced the growth of Karnataka Rajyostava celebrations in MRPL and the institution of the Rajyotsava Award to honour eminent personalities in the field of Kannada literature.

It maybe recalled that last year "MRPL Karnataka Rajyostava award" was presented to Dr Amrith Someshwar, noted Writer and Litterateur in Karnataka. MRPL in the past has honored Shri M Narayan, Shri Srinath Marate and Shri Balipa Bhagawat, also.

The grand finale was a "Hasyotsava" by Prof Krishnegowda and his team at the specially prepared Dr Pandit Puttaraj Gawai Sabangana, C. Aswath Vedike. As curtains fell, Shri Seetharama Rai delivered the vote of thanks. The function proceedings were compered by Shri Prashanth Upadhyaya and Smt Saraswathi Alva.