MRPL launches Smoke free village campaign

13th June 2018

A programme to declare Yekkar, Bajpe and Malavoor Grama Panchayats ‘Smoke Free’ was held in MRPL Employees Club on 13th June 2018. The program was inaugurated by Shri Umanath Kotian, Hon’ble MLA, Mulki - Moodabidri in the presence of Shri M Venkatesh, Managing Director, Shri A.K.Sahoo, Director (Finance), Presidents and PDO’s of Yekkar and Malavoor Grama Panchayat and Taluk Panchayat Members. Dr. Bharat Shetty, Hon’ble MLA Mangalore - North later joined the programme.

MRPL has identified villages under three Grama Panchayats (GP) in its surroundings and decided to make them smoke free. About 132 families belonging to the villages under these Panchayats have been distributed with the free LPG kits. In addition to these, 161 left over families belonging to Chelairu, Soorinje, Permude, Jokatte Panchayats were also distributed the LPG kits. Earlier in 2016 & 2017, MRPL had distributed LPG kits to 372 BPL families identified from Bala, Chelairu, Soorinje, Permude and Jokatte Grama Panchayats. The cost of the gas kit as well as the gas stove which was provided to these beneficiaries was borne by MRPL under its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) programme.

Shri Ganesh Arbi, President Malavoor GP and Shri Suresh Shetty, President, Yekkar GP declared their respective Grama Panchayat Villages smoke free.

Shri Umanath Kotian speaking on the occasion thanked MRPL for taking steps towards fulfilling the dream of our PM to turn all the villages of our country smoke free. This will also help to improve the health of the women folk, he said. He also advised the beneficiaries to take utmost precautions while using the LPG.

Dr. Bharat Shetty spoke on the occasion and said that MRPL is doing a great job in helping these families and wished them to continue to do such good work.

Shri M Venkatesh, Managing Director, MRPL spoke and said that he is proud to help the needy in the surrounding villages. MRPL has identified 293 families and helped them this year under its CSR program and the company is extending this benefit within the framework of Govt. rules and guidelines, he said.

Shri Harish Baliga, CGM – CSR welcomed the gathering and Ms Veena T Shetty, Chief Manager - CSR proposed the vote of thanks. Mr Shrisha M Karmaran compered the programme.